Weight, what?

The past couple of weeks I’ve notice my weight has gone up and down like a yo-yo. Dos anyone have any ideas on why this might be? I’m still running the mileage according to my race plan. Perhaps I’m over eating on calories, or not enough? I’m confused. I suppose my consumption of a few alcoholic beverages may be to blame for the “up” in weight. I may try to monitor my food/beverage intake this week to see what I am doing wrong. If you have any thoughts or suggestions, I’m all ears. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Weight, what?

  1. Well, not knowing how much weight we are talking about here, I suspect it is water weight.

    For me this can be somewhere from 2 to 3 pounds. In fact, my morning weight is different from night time weight. Most obvious is on the long runs, your body weight can go up and down quite a bit before and after the run.

    1. It is around 3 pounds up and down recently. But I never noticed it during any marathon training that I had done in the past. I suppose training for an Ultra, I am more susceptible to weight gain/loss or “water gain/loss”? So I probably shouldn’t stress too much about it then? Thanks for your input!

  2. My weight is always up a few pounds over the weekend, which is also when I do my long runs (Sunday). The weight drops again about mid-week, and I am generally at my lowest on Friday morning. Most articles I have read talk about how a long run confuses the body, which then retains fluids. Of course, weekend eating and drinking can make this worse, but most of the fluctuation can be explained by the long run.

    1. Thanks for your input. I agree, my weight seems to be up around the end of the weekend too. I’m very disciplined with my diet during the week but once the weekend rolls around I don’t feel the need to be. Knowing I put a lot of miles in for my long run on Saturdays, I don’t feel bad about indulging a little. Maybe it’s the “indulging” that is the culprit of my gains.

      1. “Indulging” can be a definite problem. And we often think that because we run so many miles, we can “indulge” even more. I ran my first ultra last year, and stepped up my mileage beyond what I had been doing. And my weight was at a 3-year high last year!

Leave a Reply

