Halfway there.

As I finished up week 10 of my 20 week training plan, I realized how strong, both mentally and physically, I have become as a runner. I struggled through aggravating knee pain just 6 months ago, where the pain was so intense I could hardly walk. After taking some time off to heal, and learn to be more patient, I was able to start from scratch with fresh legs/knees in the Fall. I knew that once I got a good foundation of running built back up, I would be ready to start training for the longest race of my life, the Prairie Spirit 50 mile Ultra-marathon. Now going into week 11, while training through the most brutally cold winter I have yet seen, I am amazed at how far I have come and what I have learned; that if you just listen to your body, you can make it do extraordinary things. When you need to rest, take a break. When you are hungry, eat. When you are thirsty, hydrate. When you are cold, wear extra layers. Your body will thank you for it in return. I’m looking forward to the remaining 10 weeks of my training and all the other journeys it may bring.

P.S. Here’s hoping that I may not have to do anymore 15 milers on the treadmill. Thinking warm thoughts for an early Spring. 🙂

One thought on “Halfway there.

  1. As a fellow Iowans we are incredibly familiar with “life on the treadmill” during those long winter months! So glad we found your blog! We look forward to following your journey! 🙂

Leave a Reply

